Masterworks 3: Ravel & Kodaly

Saturday, February 16, 2019 8:00PM
Old Cabell Hall

Masterworks 3: Ravel & Kodaly
Tickets Are Not On Sale Yet

Performed at Old Cabell Hall, on Grounds at U.Va.

Part of the 2018-2019 Charlottesville Symphony at the University of Virginia season

Ravel & Kodaly

Benjamin Rous, Conductor
Andrew Le, Piano

RAVEL Pavane pour une infante défunte (1910)
RAVEL Piano Concerto in G Major (1932)
MOYA Siempre Lunes, Siempre Marzo (2014)
KODALY Variations on a Hungarian Folksong ‘The Peacock’ (1939)

This vibrant program pairs two pieces by Ravel: the haunting Pavane pour une infante défunte and the sparkling, sublime Piano Concerto in G Major (with Andrew Le, piano), with Kodaly’s Variations on a Hungarian Folksong, a thrilling tour-de-force for the entire orchestra. A work by young Venezuelan composer Reinaldo Moya rounds out the program.

Pre-Concert Lecture
Join UVA Associate Professor of Music Richard Will for a Pre-Concert Lecture on Saturday, February 16 at 7:15pm in the Minor Hall Auditorium.

For the Saturday night concert, free parking is available in the Central Grounds Parking Garage.

2018-19 Season subscriptions are on sale now through the Charlottesville Symphony website